www.BinaryAlchemy.de :: View topic - Network rendering of PT_explosion_dust
 SearchSearch   RegisterRegister  ProfileProfile   UsergroupsUsergroups   Log inLog in 
If you create a new post, please use a topic that describes your problem
Documento sin título
 
Network rendering of PT_explosion_dust

 
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    www.BinaryAlchemy.de Forum Index -> Shader Problems / How do I...?
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message

mnich



Joined: 21 Sep 2006
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Thu Sep 21, 2006 12:54 pm    Post subject: Network rendering of PT_explosion_dust Reply with quote

Hi,
rendering "PT_explosion_dust" from sample scenes of the BA Volume Shaders 2.0.3 on our renderfarm using raysat produces slightly different output from each slave. There are visible tails rendered by different computers. When rendering standalone on each of these computers, then the result is OK. I haven't noticed such problems on other sample scenes yet. We are using XSI 5.11 32bits on WinXP. The shader was installed into Factory Add-Ons on each computer.



Am I doing anything wrong? Can someone help me, please?

Thanks,
Mnich
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message

nixx



Joined: 23 Apr 2007
Posts: 34
Location/Company/Country: Animate This, Thessaloniki, Greece

PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2007 2:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am having the exact same problem with a scene of my own, made from scratch, and using the Volume_Cloud. Distributed rendering causes the same "different tiles" effect.

This is on XSI 6.01, BA_Volume 2.1.1 for XSI6 installed in workgroup. License paths and everything are set up correctly (the slave does render, only differently). All other custom/3d party shaders installed in the workgroup path render perfectly across the network.

I tried different settings for MR tile sizes, different memory allocations/limits, different BA_Volume lookup table sizes and settings, manual bbox, etc - the problem only gets more or less noticeable, but it is still always there.

This is very important, and I really hope to see this post replied to. This problem essentially forbids the use of distributed rendering, which is a huge hit to production times, especially given the rendertime-hungy nature of the shader (volumetrics are always demanding).

Any input, and especially workarounds, highly appreciated. Hasn't anybody else come across this problem ?

thanks,
nick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website

mnich



Joined: 21 Sep 2006
Posts: 2

PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2007 6:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Try using Particle Player. It solved my problem.

mnich
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message

nixx



Joined: 23 Apr 2007
Posts: 34
Location/Company/Country: Animate This, Thessaloniki, Greece

PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2007 5:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks mnich,

But unfortunately, I 'm not having this problem in particles (although if I do in the future, I 'll keep your advice in mind).

This is a simple sphere, with the BA_Volume shader.

Thanks anyway mnich, although I 'd like to hear Holger's opinion about this, too.

nick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website

schoenberger
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 3786

PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2007 5:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If you don't use a Fractal4d, is the problem gone?
If the fractal shader is the problem, check this thread:
http://www.binaryalchemy.de/forum/viewtopic.php?t=356
_________________
Holger Schönberger
Binary Alchemy - digital materialization
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

nixx



Joined: 23 Apr 2007
Posts: 34
Location/Company/Country: Animate This, Thessaloniki, Greece

PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2007 6:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Holger,

Thanks for replying. Unfortunately, the problem is still there whether I use fractal4d or not. In my volume object, I 'm using a mix of volumescalar_primitive and fractal4d_scl for the density. I tried all possible combinations, even disabled both primitive and scalar, but the problem stays.

Also, I 'm using the latest version 2.1.1 for XSI6, and using the scalar-only fractal4d in my rendertree, so even according to that thread, I should be ok. But as I mentioned, the problem stays even with no fractal4d at all.

I should also mention that the problem is persistent in that it's always there, but it's not consistent in its "pattern". Even if I leave the render region open and keep refreshing it, I will get a different "version" of the problem every time - different tiles, less or more intense, etc.

Thanks for looking into this. Any other suggestions/ideas/workarounds ? Anything I can do to help you pinpoint the problem ?

nick


Last edited by nixx on Mon Apr 23, 2007 6:18 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website

schoenberger
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 3786

PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2007 6:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please send me the, then I can take a look at it.
_________________
Holger Schönberger
Binary Alchemy - digital materialization
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

nixx



Joined: 23 Apr 2007
Posts: 34
Location/Company/Country: Animate This, Thessaloniki, Greece

PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2007 6:19 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

schoenberger wrote:
Please send me the, then I can take a look at it.


That was a very quick reply, I appreciate it. I will prepare the scene and send it to you.

info (at) binaryalchemy (dot) de ?

nick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website

schoenberger
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 3786

PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2007 6:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mail (at) binaryalchemy (dot) de
_________________
Holger Schönberger
Binary Alchemy - digital materialization
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

schoenberger
Site Admin


Joined: 02 Mar 2005
Posts: 3786

PostPosted: Fri Apr 27, 2007 4:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was able to track the problem down to the shading/illumination part of the shader. It is fixed for the next version. Thanks.
_________________
Holger Schönberger
Binary Alchemy - digital materialization
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail

nixx



Joined: 23 Apr 2007
Posts: 34
Location/Company/Country: Animate This, Thessaloniki, Greece

PostPosted: Fri Apr 27, 2007 10:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This is simply great news Holger ! Thank you for the update. Great to know it's fixed.

nick
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    www.BinaryAlchemy.de Forum Index -> Shader Problems / How do I...? All times are GMT + 1 Hour
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
 
Documento sin título
 



Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group



Number of shameful bots caught by Anti-Spam ACP: 1667